Chicago Advertising Federation Awards

The American Advertising Federation (AAF) has changed the name for their national advertising competition from the ADDY Awards to the American Advertising Awards.

Historically, this annual awards competition garners over 40,000 entries from across the US at three different levels. According to James Edmund Datri, CEO, AAF, the name change was developed to reflect the mission of the competition, which honors excellence in American advertising.
"The ADDY Awards began as a local program. One of its great strengths has always been that it offers a competition at the level of the local market. It's the only major awards program that offers recognition for the best work in hundreds of small- and mid-sized markets," said Datri. "But as the competition has grown, the marketplace has become a more global one. And the 'local' feel of the competition has overshadowed the fact that it's the largest - and we believe the toughest - competition of its kind. This is a celebration of the best-of-the-best in American advertising at every level. The competition's leadership felt it was important that the brand better reflect that."
Though now called the American Advertising Awards (as opposed to the ADDYs), entries will continue to be submitted into the competition through one of the AAF's network of more than 170 local advertising federations, including the Chicago Advertising Federation.
Click here for information about CAF's 2014 American Advertising Awards competition.


The Chicago Advertising Federation exists to foster momentum in Chicago’s advertising industry. The four pillars of the Chicago Advertising Federation are:

  • Professional Enrichment
  • Chicago Market & Industry Recognition
  • Networking
  • Community Involvement

CAF is supported by the following sponsors:

CAF branding and website design provided by Leo Burnett, Department of Design.